Return to Home Page 221 West First Street 
Duluth, MN 55802 
MIC Planning Area
The MIC planning area encompasses Duluth, Superior and outlying townships
The MIC’s planning jurisdiction—the Duluth-Superior Metropolitan Planning Area—extends from the census-defined Duluth-Superior Urbanized Area out to the first ring of non-urbanized townships. In Minnesota this includes the Cities of Duluth, Hermantown and Proctor, and the townships of Canosia, Duluth, Grand Lake, Lakewood, Midway, Rice Lake and Solway. In Wisconsin the MIC planning area includes the City of Superior, the townships of Lakeside, Parkland and Superior and the villages of Oliver and Superior.

The Duluth-Superior Metropolitan Planning Area is 617 square miles and is encompassed within St. Louis and Douglas counties in Minnesota and Wisconsin, respectively. The Census 2000 population for the entire MIC planning area was 145,166. By the year 2004, population estimates from the Minnesota Department of Administration and Wisconsin Demographic Services Center had increased slightly to 146,365.